Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Tips and Tricks: Makeing life easier with your mobile setup.

Well I said I would give some tips, so here's the easiest one that I could figure out for mobile DJ's out there.

Ever have issues of not having enough outlets?  Some of you may figure daisy chaining power strips will help that.  You can never have enough outlets (or extension cords for that matter, especially if you are running lights as well).  I figure, why not make setting everything up easier. . . .It seems retarded at first, but wouldn't you have the peace of mind knowing that your $$$ in equipment be safe while you are on the decks?  I've been and seen what happens when equipment get spikes, or power surges.  It's not pretty!  But I've always been on the safe side.  You can also go into buying the Furman Power conditioners, but you can save some of that for pro gear. If you already have pro gear, then you shouldn't be reading this. . .you already know what to do, and probably have more money than I do. . .(donations please?)


A 12 outlet power strip answers most of my issues, especially if I have another Dj on my equipment, and they're running on SSL as well.  The cost depends on the type your buying, but should cost between $25-$50.  12 is overkill, but think of the amount of time that this can save.  My set-up that needs power consists of 2 powered monitors, Behringer B215A, 2 Technic 1200 MK2 turntables, a Vestax PMC07-Pro Mixer, a Behringer XENYX 1202 portable mixer, my laptop, an external power supply for SSL, and a Western Digital 320GB External HD (older brick type).  That's already 10 outlets I need.  I usually keep the monitors nearby, as I hook up my turntables up to the XENYX 1202, but that's already 2 more than what most standard power strips allow.  Or even worse, 5 available if you daisy chain the power strip to another to get at least an additional 6 more.  That's just too crazy, and in the long run, a waste, as I know Dj's who don't even use all the outlets, and just use extension cords.  But alas, this is my set-up, and not yours.  You can set it up however you like.  By my point is, I now have 4 available outlets that are available to me, or my fellow Dj's.  Extra speakers, probably a powered bass sub.

I haven't even gone into the applications for the lights yet.  But the pic above shows you the amount of gear you can place onto a truss.  Think about it. . . .zip-tying this strip right onto the truss itself, and then just mounting everything else. Then just setting everything up and connecting it all, and just plugging in 1 plug for ALL the lights.  Or if you run DMX-controlled lights, or have the set-up for Slave and Master for power, you can easily do the same with a 6 outlet power strip and run everything through one outlet.

I myself have 2 of these.  One stays in my studio, and the other as I travel.

I do, however, offer that anyone that is a mobile Dj, invest in one of these things. . .


Or rather a multiple one, so if you have to, connect one so it doesn't overload the power on the single power strip, and cuase your equipment to go "bye-bye".  This particular one costs about $10.  You may want to look into the multiple one, as it may server you better in the long run.


I could go into more detail, but most of you may not care. . .I'm just "throwing it out there. . . .hoping it takes root!"


Vicious Li!

Update on the Magma Switchbox

The Magma SwitchBox


I had emailed the good people at Magma, and they informed me that there is indeed a push to get this little piece of mind for sometime State-side. I'm also assuming there is another version on the way out, as they've also mentioned they are trying to get a prototype ready for NAMM this year. Something tells me that that they want to update the either the look, and or drop the price down from the $200-$350 price tag. (I'm hoping the earlier rather than the latter).


Like I mentioned earlier on this piece, it allows 2 dj's the share the same set-up, without losing any time, or fussing over transitioning between dj's during sets. It also frees up 2 more inputs to allow either 2more CDJ's or 2 more turntables if you wanted (make sure you have some sort of line adjustment, like a BBE FJB-200 Phono Preamp, or something similar) so that there's no distortion or line differential. What does that exactly mean? Just plug your turntable into the line input of your mixer. . .you'll definately hear the difference. . .but moving on. . .

This is good news for those who Dj with other people, and this is a MUST HAVE for club installations.

Now I'm blabbing. . .but I am excited to hear this news, as I have been looking for this for a year now. There are a few places that have this on the net, but you'll be paying an arm and a leg for it. I really hope that the price point does go down, and that it remains passive, so I don't lose an important outlet for remedial things, like that to power my laptop, or my external HD.

I'll eventually give a quick tip for mobile Dj's. Simple, Easy, and it won't cost that much. Depending on your set-up.


Peace guys and gals.

Dj Windz One'
aka Visious Li.

Friday, December 4, 2009

It's been a while. . . .

Forreal forreal!

These past few have been quite enlightening, and fantastic, but I'm not going to get into details cuz this is not the forum to. . even though it is my blog.

Okay. . . .not much has been going on, but I have been following a few tidbits for my "Gadgets and Gizmos" segment. . .So here it goes. . . .as late as it is. . . .

"Gadgets and Gizmos"
The AKAI LPD8


This has been on my list of "must try" for sometime now. . .all I can say is that this feels a lot fetter than the Korg nanoPad, and a little bit more responsive. But it has 4 less pads than what I'm used to, so setting up the five cues on SSL is a bit tricky. The knobs are okay if your are using Propellorheads Reason 4, but if you are going that route, you might as well pick up the Korg padKontrol. But it's good to see AKAI pushing the smaller units for the on to go producer that can't afford to have the MPD32 with them at all times.



The Magma Switchbox

Okay. I have been looking all over the web to find out where I can buy this piece of ill shit. . .Guess what? They only sell it overseas and this beast costs round $200! Even worse it's been out for some years now and NO ONE (that I know of) has ever utilized it fully.

What the Magma does is gives the ability for 2 Dj's on different DVS's (Digital Vinyl System) such as Tracktor, Serato Scratch Live, Virtual Dj, or even Final Scratch (POS!!), to finally share the same equipment. 2 tables, 1 mixer, 2 laptops?!?!?! With this you can. It gets wire crazy, but at least it allows for a more smoother transistion. I'm a purist, but with my own equipment salvaging up all my precious space in my truck, I would rather go without the vinyl. That being said, this is an answer for house parties. This was initially set up for club installations, but I have not seen 1 club in San Diego utilize this piece, or have even heard of it!

In the pic above, you can also see that it also opens up the line input of a 2 channel mixer. So the possibility to have 4 inputs makes endless mixing possible. . .or a live, on the fly remix. Not so unheard of, but to have 4 turntables running at the same time, 2 digital and 2 on vinyl. . .that would be an awesome sight.



Trends and circles
I've been out of the loop for sometime now, and have been falling off what's on the radio. Not too much a a loss, but good enough that I even missed the Mayer Hawthorne album dropping. But I've been busy with my own studio buildup. A very slow process, but as Mr Oda has said. . ."Slow and steady, homie, wins the race!" I've just found myself in a slump as of the past few months. No gigs, no worthwhile stories to share with the world. I just dive right into projects though. Projects that take most of my time. a couple of which I'm taking my time with. My "All In The Name Of..." mixtape series is taking shape. the 1st AITNO... mixtape, Volume 1:Family was released as a cover for the Mag Flux album releases. I wish I could've done more to it, but "do wit whatchu got" attitude got the best of me. So the next few projects for me is going to take some time, as usual. AITNO...Volume 2:Motown is going to be a double. . .Volume2,Chapter 1:Motown and Volume 2,Chapter 2:Motown Soul are in the works, as well as the pushed back "Love" volume for Valentines day (as was orginally planned).

I'll try to be up to date on here, but I make no promises. . . .


Stay classy, Interwebz!

Dj Windz One"
aka Vicious Li

Saturday, May 23, 2009

Your never too old. . . .

If some of you have not figured out, I engulf myself in anything I do, and prepare myself for the long haul. Sometimes it gets to be much for me. . . .but this guy let's me know that anything can be done. . .At any Age! Here's info I've learned/known on the B-man known as Storm. . .(used from the website www.stromdance.de)

Niels "Storm" Robitzky
'Storm' started dancing as a little child, but seriously cought on to the dances Bboying, Popping and Locking at the age of 14. His first tours he did for "Bravo Breakdancesensation 84". Soon after that, the big fashion 'Breakdance' died out. Nevertheless, he didn't stop studying styles, got connected with other Bboys and stayed creative and productive throughout the unfashionable ages until this date.

By 1991 his group "the Battle Squad" was one of the leading bboygroups worldwide and thanx to them and others, the art of Bboying is so alive and strong these days.

In 1991 and 1992 him and his crew Battle Squad won the "international Balle of the year".
Because of the struggle in times when Bboying was out of fashion, he decided to establish HipHopculture in the theatreworld.


From 1992 on he danced with a New Yorker dance Company called 'Ghettoriginal'. he performed shows in Washingtons 'Kennedy Center' and in NYCities 'Lincolncenter'. While living in NYC he got his feeling for "Funk" back by working out with "Mr Wiggles" and "Adesola" at rehearsals and on off days. So he started studying the dancestyles popping and locking.

During the same period he was hosting the HipHop Magazine 'Freestyle' on the german TV channel Viva.

Briefly after quitting the job in early 1996, he decided to form a dancecompany in his hometown Berlin, which was called the 'Storm and Jazzy Project'. With two choreographies they toured many different theatres around the world.


In 2004 he conceptionalized "The art of urban dance" and choreographed with the other 8 performing dancers an informative didactic piece with 10 other dancers from europe. This show has also been touring around the world with great support of the "Goethe Institute" in the middle east and Asia.

Check this video out from 2006


This is what gets me. . .the man is 40 years old, and still holds it down for the art and the performance. . .not to mention the love, for dancing. . .but he's just not a pop locker. . . .

check this video I saw that was posted by Cros 1:


This is dedication, this is love. . .and this is Hip-Hop.

I guess you can say this is the first installment of "Hip-Hop Props". . .my props out to the people that have, in some form, moved me to keep on doing what I do. . .So enjoy this. . . .

I figure something out for the next month. . .

Windz One"

Friday, April 17, 2009

Same old, same ole!

Well. . .new (sort of) layout. . .New banner up above, and a little more new stuff that I'll eventually work on.

At the moment, life is grand. . . .but REASON 4 is kicking my ass,. . so are the Korg nanoPad and NanoKey. . .trying to get it configured right is going to be a pain. Tonight I'll be purchasing the Korg nanoControl, so I'll be a mobile beat maker like my homeboy who has an AKAI MDP32. He's just going to have to help me with the updates, and how to work all the controls. This is ogin to be my way around to FINALLY doing beats. . . .

again. . .any help with this is much appreciated. . .

Wish me luck. .

PS. . .Happy Birthday Joanne!

Peace, Phishes!
Windz One"

Saturday, March 28, 2009

Gadgets and Gizmos - Numark NS7 for Serato ITCH

Okay. . .since I'm part music lover, part gadget freak, and elecctronic geek, I introduce to you the "Gadgets and Gizmos"review of things I see, and things that please me. . . .like this


the Numark NS7 control for Serato Itch.


I recently made a trip to my local Guitar Center looking to add to my arsenal of toys (a Korg nanoKey), and saw this piece of equipment on display in the extremely small Dj and turntables section of the store (for those in La Mesa GC know what I'm talking bout!)

This piece of equipment is probably the best looking out of ALL the controllers I've seen on the market, and this set up only feeds my intuition that even if you are a laptop Dj, or a vinyl purist, this combines the best of ALL worlds.

For those not in the know - Serato ScratchLIVE (or SSL)is the interface that most Dj's use to spin mp3's. Serato ITCH has been available since it's inception, but there haven't been a whole lot of interfaces that take this into effect. There are smaller desktop controllers available,such as the Vestax VCI-300, but for the purist in me,i still need to have the feel of a turntable pushing back when back spin a song, pull away when i let go of the plate when I'm done scratching. I myself have SSL, but seeing this in action was simply jaw dropping to me.

The controller is about 1 foot short of being a FULL set up for Dj's, but oh how easy this piece of equipment sets itself up. Since you are simply connecting the controller to a computer (laptop,or otherwise), that is it! Besides a microphone and headphones, you're done!. This all in one does everything that I've been doing with the keyboard for a year and a half.

My initial reservations immediately melted away. . . .Being I was unfamiliar with ITCH itself, but knowing the controls on SSL made that much easier. The layout of the setup is clean. Simple and easy to understand. The fact that you don't have to touch the laptop at all makes this the better of all controllers out there. To you other DJ'sout there, would you liketo have one night where you do not have to touch your laptop, and have other controls at your fingertips? well this is it! There are intuitive controls on this interface that make this FAR easier in terms of usefulness. There are knobs that control the scrolling forsong searches. There is a search strip where you can locate a particular part of a song (genius!), and allthe same queues for SLL are there (cue points, start/stop) . . .this is the part that get's to me. . .forthe "vinyl junkie" in me. . .taken from the Numark website for the NS7 performance controller:


"Forget your experiences with other controllers. NS7 has two seven-inch, motorized, high-torque aluminum turntable platters. The turntable controls feature modern and classic settings that alter the feel to model the feel you prefer. Seven-inch, legit vinyl records with 45RPM adapters sit on real slipmats. There’s no simulation here – NS7 is the real deal."
- Numark NS7 Performance controller. http://www.numark.com/ns7

I t gave me the feel of real TURNTABLES,minus the tonearm of course, but i did not once feel like this was going to break. It is what i expect from Numark, but i really didn't expect this to be as easy to use as I thought it would be. And for me to explain everything, i would have to sit here for 4 hours typing every little detail on what I didn't like about this,cuz that would mean that i would have had to stay at that place for 6 hours playing around with it. I don't really see a bad point yet, cuz from the very get go, I understood everything. All the controls were top notch. Not one thing about this equipment felt cheap (as well as it shouldn't. peep the price till the jump). The platters were awesome, and every switch and button felt responsive. Not one thing turned me off about this thing.


You have to see this in action. . .I have all the equipment I'll ever need (2 Technic 1200's, Vestax 05proII. . .I'm good), but step up to these bad boys, and you will see the future of all set ups! No lie. The price on this is very steep,bout $1300. But if you see it in these terms (turntables, good quality mixer) your probably in a better deal in the long run, considering that the RANE mixer with Serato controls run about $1000 easily. This would be the best investment in getting into DJ long term. If you just don't want to deal with the separate tables and the mixer. This is just short of being perfect (no real vinyl playback. . . .sad to say!) and the availability to connect a 3rd deck with an additional mixer (for guest dj's or transitions to another dj at places) and laptop hinders this for me,otherwise if I was a club owner, i would get this piece ust for the sole fact that is an all in one product.Ithink they may be onto something if they had a replaceable mixer style for every dj style (rotary faders, smoother faders at that). There just needs to be a lil more effects, but again, i haven't played with this thing too long so I don't know too much about it yet.

Go to the web page or even go check out youtube videos of it in action. Then find a guitar center that has this on display. It is simply awesome.


Review breakdowns (out of 5):
Quality = 5/5
2 leading companies in the industry, Numark and Serato! (DUH!) For obvious reasons, it get's 5 stars! Not a cheap feel on this, although copping a feel would better explain the love of this equipment.

Performance = 4/5
I'm opinionated on this, but the fact that this may give out makes me wonder how much repairs are going to be. . .especially on the platters. I'llkeep it high on the depth chart though.

Ease of use = 5/5
If you have tried or have SSL,there's no need to try to figure it all out again. You'll act as if you've had this piece the entire time!!!

Overall = 4/5
You now ask why the 4 star rating? This piece belongs in a clean studio,or a club enviroment where Dj's keep drinks away from the equipment. It's just isn't as versatile in a moblie enviroment. But consider this a 4.99 rating. I'm just seeing this in the long term. And since this is really new,I haven't read the reviews on time frame of when this will eventually breakdown.

Well. . .I know I've lulled some of you to sleep, but hey. . .this is me and my passion. . . .nothing will keep me from listening and enjoying what I do.



Your resident cool/geek/tech/musical guy. . .

Windz One"

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Update on the "The Nuttz"

Finally got the computer running and loaded the Korg nanoPad.

I had to download and install the drivers from the KORG website. . . . .not much and updated SSL wiht 1.8.3.

This thing runs smoothly! I didn't expect this thing to be helpful by much, but now I've started placing cue points, and started drumming on the fly with the selected track. Your only limited to 5 points, unless you make another copy of the song and place the points on other parts of the song. But this thing rocks my socks off. . .my private area!

Placement is key for this piece of equipment. I usually place it in between the turntables near the top of the mixer. If you take tohe tonearm off the platter, it may get into some issues, but otherwise, it suits me fine. (I keep the lappy off to the side, away from all the wires and such.)

anything goes for this piece of equipment. I don't think I'd be very happy without this piece. And it's amll enough that I can put it in my laptop case without any worries. I'll eventually place pics of my set-up from my gigs at the Morena Club, and you'll see why I'm so happy with this tool.

But yeah. . .I still need help with certain things, and if the X-Y touchpad can be utilized. If you have any info for me, please let me know. But all is well in the land of Laptop Dj's. . . .even though I LOVE VINYL!

. . .There can only be one. . . .
Windz One"

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

99 problems. . . . .

http://www.mtv.com/shared/media/news/images/j/Jay_Z/sq-jay-fixes-hat-99-probs.jpg
. . . .but my life ain't one!

Recently, my bank account got placed on a freeze due to my own negligence. An old credit card debt placed the freeze, Midland Credit Management (MCM). I already know that they're a debt collections agency, so I already know why. So I got to pay up 4K to release my account back to normal.

Now. . . .I got caught up in the moments before this, where the girl I would like to court (yeah. . . I don't want to fuck this one up!) agreed to a date with me. The computer is now operational and faster than it's ever been (Thank you to my WestSide Jedi cohort, Qui-Gon Gil). Taxes are going to be goo this year (I overpaid my taxes by !5$ per paycheck. . .and I get paid weekly!). People I haven't seen/talked to are getting a hold of me and seeing that I am in a better place now (not saying who though. . .high school was a long time ago). And also, there are gigs just beginning to fall into place (Brewhaus at Eastlake w/ Dj's Joe Dirt and Flexander, aka MindzAlike), and then there's the Stage Saloon in Downtown. Safe to say, that this year is still turning out better than any previous year before 2003. . . .

But with the bank freezing my account, I would have gotten me upset, or even depressed. I already know that this is my own fault, but I have talked to a small circle of friends that have let me know what I should and shouldn't do. My options go as such:
1) Claim bankruptcy
I'm not buying a house in the next 7 years. . .but my debt is not that bad). I mean, people are surviving with 6 digit debt!
2) pay it up in installments
But it's going to be through garnishment. . .and there are too many horror stories with MCM. I do not want garnishment through my check. I have a feeling that 25% is way too much.
or 3) Live without the checking account.
I'm deciding on the 3rd choice. I can still cash my checks, I'll just have to go without the plastic for a while until I can figure something out.

Other options that I'll eventually look into: Debt Consolidation. I have heard that this will mess up my credit score even more, but what else do I have to lose?

I'll still be looking into all my options, but I just don't want this little thing to bring me down. (As my friend Acromic would say. . . "It's only money"). Besides, I still go ga-ga seeing her (but I hide it well!). I won't go into details, but she is cute to me, and I don't want anything to bring me down before I take her out to dinner. Thank goodness I can still cash my checks!

Having the friends I have placed this "new" additude in me, and nothing can stop me from doing what I need to do. So enjoy the music. . . I sure have been!

Colin Munroe - Break Off


Found at bee mp3 search engine


Take it all in stride, my friends!


Windz One"

Thursday, February 12, 2009

"The worst month. . . .EVER"

http://www.punksinscience.org/jeffrey/pics/johnny%20cash%20finger.jpg


I'm only saying this because of the hell I went through this past weekend. . . .

(Somewhat) Condensed version:
Friday Night - Going to the gig from picking up my paycheck, I get rear ended near Miramar Road. I'm at a stop light. . .I hear screeching. . . .BLAM!. . .I look in my rear view. . . .the car is backing up. . .I open my door, and the guy/girl zooms right past me. I think he's done this before because as soon as he passes me, he shuts his lights off. . .So I'm a victim of a hit and run. My neck begins to srtain before the show. . .but I suck it up and make do.

Saturday Morning - I go to the bathroom, and when all is done, I flush and I stand up. . . .Next thing you know my lower back "POPS!", and at this time, I'm texting a few pwoplw, and the pain shoots through my entire body, forcing me to drop my phone in the toilet. (luckily I flushed!). But now I have no celly whatsoever! If anyone has a spare phone they can give me. . .let me know. . .

All day Saturday and Sunday - I spend it in my room, laying down with my legs up because the pain is too much. Even walking hurts.

Monday to Thrusday - PAIN!!!!! Driving doesn't help my back. It finally pops while staying at home most of Thursday night, but the pains is a litle more bareable. . .not by much though.

I don't really care if it is Valentines Day month, I've always had an issue with the month of February!

I'll probably post something more deserving of my time on here. . .but this is the month of "love", so I'm not giving any till I get some!



. . . . . .YEAH, I SAID IT!

Wednesday, February 4, 2009

"The Nuts"

. . .for Serato users that is!

I went to research some gear for myself to fully utilize and maximize Serato ScratchLIVE (or SL). My original idea was to buy an AKAI MPD24 or an MPD 32 USB conrtoller. Either one seemed to fit my needs, but I didn't want to spend $250-300 for a piece of equipment that I will not want to lug around to even smaller gigs.
http://cachepe.zzounds.com/media/quality,85/brand,zzounds/fit,400by400/MPD24_fronttop-a2e5f77de08988c94e9b8b40dadb2f26.jpgAkai MPD 24
http://www.delamar.de/wp-content/uploads/2008/01/akai_mpd_32.jpg Akai MPD 32


Doing some research, I found a small piece of equipment that looked promising, the Korg nanoPAD. I started doing my research on this piece for some time now, and found the good things that is very obvious. It's small and compact, so taking to gigs isn't a big deal. The price was stellar at only $59.99 at Guitar Center. The black one was not available, so I picked up the one you see below. (Found it is coming out in Feb. But the Guitar Center I shop at won't have them in stock)
http://www.abcmusicos.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/06/korg-nano-pad.jpg

I haven't had the chance to try it out, but I thought this would help me use SL better, and faster, rather than using shift or control keys, or leaving the CAPS LOCK key in place all the time.


Today I decided to look for anything that could show me what I wanted to do. I did find something on YouTube, but it literally blew my fucking head away!

Check out the vid:


I can't wait to get this thing working! . . The computer runs on Vista, and has not eve been updated with SP2. Still awaiting the restore discs from Gateway from Mr Oda, but eventually, I will get to know this piece of equipment very very well!

So if you are a DJ that has this and are utilizing it to it's FULL potential, please hit me up. . . .I want to know what you like/dislike about it. I'm getting eager and just having it is not enough for me anymore. . . .

The saga continues. . . .

Dj Windz One"

Thursday, January 29, 2009

"Hello everybody. . .recording LIVE from somewhere. . . . . ."

". . . . .LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORD - a mercy!"

Yes yes yes. . . .This would be my first blog ever. . . .I'm new to this, and I figure give it a shot, since a lot of stuff kicks in my head. . .and I hate going on the usual myspace, xanga, or whatever the case may be (Yall asians remnember Asian Avenue, right?). Might as well make this shit work for me. and well. . .Since I rarely go out, might as well make use of my own time letting you, friends and fans alike, to get to know what goes on in my head. . .weather I want it to or not.

Let's start on me, shall we. . .
Here are the specs:

Name:
I refuse to use my real name, due to the fact that when people figure out who I am, they become part of my inner circle on some sort of level. . .more on that later.

AKA:
Dj Windz One, Darius Reyes (surprise to those who actually have the album), Bigz (Rest in peace. . you'll see the longer you read or subscribe), Theory. . .there's shit ton more, but these are the ones that have more meaning than the others.

Hometown:
San Diego, California. Southeast San Diego (North Bonita for your looking for the area on goolgemaps or something), and Paradise Hills
Born:
In Ologopo, Phillippines on August 31, 1977 (That means I expect gifts from you all!)
Astrological sign: Virgo (yeah. . i talk too much)
Chinese Sign: Earth Snake
Occupation: Online Technical Support
Single (but too busy to even think bout relationships. . unless. . . .nevermind!)

Interests:
Music, music production, technology. . .anything that helps me advance my own mind. Like reading (on the internet).

That's all I'm willing to divulge at this juncture. I'm sure the more you get to know who I am, the more you'll realize there's "more than meets the eye"

Here's a thought:
"You see coal, but if you look closely, you will see the many facets of the diamond that I am"
- I don't know where that came from. . .but that was pretty profound

Till the next time. . . .


Windz One'